Rüdesheim Christmas Market!

Standard

I am a huge fan of Rüdesheim. It is just a cute little town seated right along the Rhein in the beautiful Rheingau region. We visited twice this past summer. It is so beautiful! You can drool over some of those pictures HERE and HERE. Anyways, sort of last minute Mr. and I decided to visit the Rüdesheim Christmas market on a date night Monday night. We had mistakenly thought the market opened over the weekend and had planned to go with the girls then, but instead ended up going to Bonn. Since Rüdesheim is so close to us we thought why not make it a date night?! Let me tell ya, I think week night Christmas Market trips are my new favorite thing. I think we are going to try and squeeze in a few more this December. I mean, I love taking our girls and enjoying the markets with them but we are kind of restricted to day time with them because the markets do get so crowded in the evenings and on weekends. We typically just get there right when they open, spend a few hours, and head out before it gets insane. Strollers, I tell ya! 🙂 Anyways, there is just something magical about being at the market at night. The lights are just lovely! 🙂

Okay, so onto the picture! The Rüdesheim market isn’t super big but I really did enjoy that it wound around through the streets instead of being confined to one congested market area like many are. And since it was a week night it was really nice because it seemed like we were hanging out with more of the locals than anything which I really enjoy, too.


The lights. 🙂 They just make everything more sparkly and beautiful!

The nativity scene was really big and simply gorgeous! I really enjoyed it! They also had a small stage to the left and we were actually there for the opening ceremony and a local children’s choir sang a bit. It was really sweet.

Half-timbered house + Christmas lights = amazingness. I also really loved that most stores and restaurants were all decorated up for Christmas. It was really more than just a Christmas market… it was a little Christmas town! 🙂

I love date nights with this guy no matter where we are. 🙂

Another fun park of this market was they had a Scandinavian area! They had a lot of really great stuff, too. I also bought this awesome cheese slicer. 🙂

Anyways, to any of my Wiesbaden/Germany friends I definitely recommend going! I’d definitely say its more of a date night than whole family adventure. They had one little train ride. I know its not all about the rides, but it kind of is for kids. 😉 And honestly, week nights are the best. We parked in the closest parking lot to the market (at the information center) and there were tons of empty spots!

Today we spent our day at the Trier Christmas Market! I will hopefully have time to share about that tomorrow! 🙂

2 responses »

  1. It is so great that you are taking advantage of being somewhere so unique. What beautiful Christmas celebrations they have in Germany. Like something we see in a book!!!!!

  2. Pingback: Oberursel Christmas Market! | thehaysfamilyadventures

What do you think?

