Liverpool, England!

Standard

Have I mentioned that my husband rocks? Because he totally does. Not only did I get to go to Milan with my friend Keila in May, but he also let me take my Mom to Cologne last weekend for an early birthday present. AND later in September he is letting me go on a ladies trip to Ireland! Oh… AND the last couple of days he let me take my Dad on a Beatles Trip to Liverpool, England. Seriously, best husband ever!

Anyways! Liverpool was awesome. It was the first time I’ve been to an English speaking country since we moved here. It was so strange. I could understand all the signs! And the people! Still, though, before I’d go up to talk to someone my first thought was, “okay how do i say this in German?” Old habits die hard.

I seriously feel like such a ‘hard core’ traveler now, too! To get to and from Liverpool was quite a feat! We drove to the airport, flew to London, took a light rail from the airport, then took metro, then a train! We even rode a double decker bus while in Liverpool! And of course lots of walking! I think the only forms of transportation we did use were taxis and boats! 😉

Our trip to Liverpool was pretty cushy! We got upgraded on our flight to the exit row (extra leg room!) and then on our train we got upgraded to first class!

We left the house at 3:30am and at about 1:30pm we finally arrive in Liverpool!

Walking around Liverpool!

Down at Albert Dock on the Mersey.

My stereotypical tourist shot of the trip. I just couldn’t resist!

Beautiful day at Albert Dock.

Our first stop was a Museum! This was a really, really great one! We had a lot of fun!

Recreation of The Cavern at The Beatles Story museum.



John Lennon.



The Mersey.

After the Museum and Albert dock we headed up to:

Matthew Street! Home to The Cavern!

At the Cavern Club where the Beatles played 292 shows between 1961 and 1963.

Down in The Cavern listening to Beatles’ covers.

Dad and I in The Cavern.

Inside The Cavern.


After a yummy dinner of fish & chip my Dad and I settled in our room and watched some Track and Field! It was a good ending to our first day! We started our second day off with a great breakfast and then hopped on a bus to….

Penny Lane! In the pouring rain none the less!

Penny Lane!

It was such a great trip with my Dad! I am so glad we got the chance to go!! If you’d like to see more pictures from our time in Liverpool you can click HERE to see the full album!

 

One response »

  1. What a fun trip for you both. In that picture of you and your Dad I couldn’t get over how much he looked like his Dad. Again, I will say it again, how great that you are taking advantage of being in Europe to go to so many places.

What do you think?

