The Mirks do Germany!

Standard

Thursday was a rough day. I felt like our house was so quiet all day long. It was our one day lull in a five week stretch of having family stay with us! After a year of not seeing either of our families we were more than ready for this summer! It is so nice having all the extras around the house. This next stretch (3 weeks) we have my family with us. For those of you who didn’t know me before I was married… that is where the whole Mirk thing comes in. No, we’re not related to the pharmaceutical company.

The days leading up to them arriving Bug kept telling us that she didn’t want Grammy to come because Grammy would squeeze her too much….

She changed her mind rather quickly!

My sister didn’t get to visit last summer like my parents did so needless to say she was a little eager to see her nieces!

Papa even got a little love too. 🙂

Auntie and her nieces! Together at last!

Two peas in a pod! 🙂

My parents graciously spent their first sleep-deprived evening babysitting their grand babies while Mr. and I got to go out on a date! 🙂 Its always nice to get those freebie babysitter dates in while we can! Then, today (Saturday), we embarked on our first adventure. With jet lag still in the mix we opted to do something fairly close to Wiesabaden today. It worked out really well, too, since it started raining a couple hours after we arrived. We ended up deciding to go to Rudesheim! Bug and I visited previously on a Mother-Daughter trip with our church and I knew it would be a great place to bring back the family!

After exploring the town (and Christmas store) a bit we rode the gondola up to the monument on the hill! Baby really enjoyed the ride!

It wasn’t the most beautiful weather, but we still had beautiful views! The Rheingau Region is my absolute favorite place in the world I think!

I love all the vineyards! So beautiful! This area is the major producing area of Riesling Wine.

Love these two! 🙂

Taking a stroll with Auntie!

The girls have dubbed this ‘The Palace.’

We forgot our stroller and this Baby doesn’t walk anywhere. As my Father so kindly put it… “Whelp, there’s another sit-in!” She’s super stubborn. I have no idea where she got it from. 😉

More beautiful views!

Bug and Abs! Just to be clear, Bug dressed herself. She’s a special kid!

The Niederwalddenkmal.

My sister, Mom, and I!

Playing in the ‘palace.’

The whole family up at the monument overlooking the Rhein in Rudesheim!

My hunk of a husband and I!

We didn’t want my brother to feel left out so my sister picked this flattering picture of him out and made a ‘flat-Jordan.’

If you’d like to see more from our adventures so far you can view the entire albums HERE and HERE.

2 responses »

  1. So much fun to see you altogether. I know how much you all had looked forward to this time together. Love that picture of Uncle Jordan accompanying you all.

  2. Pingback: Rüdesheim Christmas Market! | thehaysfamilyadventures

What do you think?

